For Fun/Support: Memes the word! ;)

Brain fog..What day is it again?! (checking every half hour) How long ago did the weekend happen? Oh wow, it was just yesterday!!! What did I do this morning and what am I supposed to be doing today and this week? I can NOT figure out the answer….Brain Fog Meme

Chronic illness is the craziest longest hellish marathon every day of your life. It’s like walking a tight rope trying to juggle your spoons (for spoons meaning click on “quick terminology” page at the top of this page) and if you fall you could pay dearly physically (pacing and energy efficiency). Don’t look back, don’t look down, and keep looking straight ahead. It’s so hard to keep your eyes on good things and your thoughts from being discouraged. It’s okay to have a good cry sometimes! 😉 It’s tempting to look back at “before the illness,” but we must accept our journey for what it is, be here now in the present, and stay faithful and hopeful for the future. Do not compare yourself to others. That’s dangerous, as everyone seems to be moving on with life and leaving us behind, stuck here in place waiting for our lives to start again. We’ve got to guard our hearts through it. Humor is a God-send and I make a point to enjoyably laugh at how interesting my life is every time I make a brainfog mistake. We’ve got to keep a positive courageous attitude so that people can focus on the illness and helping us build awareness, rather than people see discouraged attitudes and reinforce the stigma of, “It’s all in your head.”

download Comparison-is-the-thief-of-joy

Proverbs 4.23-27proverbs4-23-oliviasellke-wordpress

 

One comment on “For Fun/Support: Memes the word! ;)

  1. Love this post, Brenda! I agree that we need to try to be positive about our illnesses because what we put out there is all people get to see!

    Also, living in the current moment is good advice. The sooner I accepted my illness and stopped longing for the past, the sooner I was able to move on from mourning my old self and start living my life as the new me. It took me a long time to accept myself the way I am now, but eventually, I did! And, things are constantly changing for me. It’s a constant struggle of accepting how I am NOW. Just when I get comfy in my new life, something happens and I have to readjust entirely.

    Being adaptable goes a long way with chronic illness – and not getting your head stuck in one place for too long. If I’m even making sense! The brain fog is very high today b/c of an overactive day yesterday. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

